健身中最困扰我们的两件事就是受伤和疼痛。为什么?首先,这两件事让你无法继续训练;其次,两者在我们能力范围之内其实都可以避免发生。

对于受伤来说,显然有时候会有那么一些我们无法控制的意外情况发生,比如说在一条结冰的路上滑了一下摔倒了,但是很多运动和日常生活中的意外伤害其实都是在我们可控范围之内的-在锻炼或运动之前没有进行适当的热身运动,肌肉用力失衡导致骨骼系统受到持续的压力,或者一个没有被纠正的错误姿势。

在很多情况下,受伤之后不仅会让我们在一段时间之内都无法正常活动,有时甚至造成在余生中身体运动都会受到一定的限制。这些都是非常不幸的例子。对于大多数的意外受伤来说,都有办法能够修复伤害,重新恢复身体状态,让你享受健康、充满活力的生活。

我们有与医生和伤后恢复理疗师的合作经验,能够帮助人们恢复健康,享受无痛运动。

这是一个多阶段的过程,包括评估和诊断问题、设计矫正锻炼课程,然后实施锻炼。大部分时候,整个疗程的多个阶段都由医生和理疗师去掌控和操作。有时候,理疗师会给病人布置家庭作业,让病人在自己的空闲时间去锻炼,但是,因为各种原因,病人很难在没有帮助的情况下用正确的锻炼姿势去完成这些家庭作业。或者说,有些情况下,病人也许不知道从什么时候开始他们可以进行一些更具挑战性的锻炼方式来推进恢复过程。这时候,有个技术好又有经验的私人教练来进行伤后恢复管理能帮到很大的忙。

私人教练能帮忙进行伤后恢复的原因跟很多健身的人第一次去健身房使用健身器材的原因一样,都是因为需要纠正动作,需要从不那么复杂的动作一直做到比较复杂的动作而且更具功能性的锻炼动作。自然地,理疗师建议的伤后恢复锻炼动作跟私人教练用来提升关节稳定性、减少意外伤害发生几率的锻炼动作都是相同的。

锻炼是减少意外伤害很好的方式,尤其是使用自由重量锻炼,因为在这种情况下能使身体的稳定性肌肉得到充分地锻炼。像平衡球和博苏球等非平衡健身器材能够强迫身体在一个非稳定的平台上找到平衡。但是,难道你就要承受意外受伤带来的不幸吗?马上寻求帮助让身体回到正轨。受伤之后拖的时间越长,留下难以治愈的问题的可能性就越大。

Two things which annoy us more than anything else are injury and illness. Why? Firstly, because they stop you from training. And, secondly, because both are usually within your control to prevent.

In terms of injury, there are obviously some occurrences which are partly outside your control – an icy pavement causing you to slip and fall over, for example. But many sporting and everyday injuries take place for one of a number of reasons which are entirely within our control – a failure to warm-up properly for the exercise or sport we are carrying out, a muscle imbalance which puts the skeletal system under consistent pressure, or a postural fault which we allow to go uncorrected.

In severe cases, injuries not only prevent us from activity for a period of time, but put physical limitations on what we can do for the rest of our lives. These are the really unfortunate cases. For most injuries, there are ways to redress the problem to regain full physical fitness and enjoy a healthy, active life.

We have experience in working with doctors and physios post-injury to help people get back to enjoy pain-free activity.

This is a multi-stage process involving assessing and diagnosing the problem, developing a corrective course of exercises, and then implementing those exercises. Frequently, but not always, all parts of the process will be handled by doctors and physiotherapists. Sometimes, a physio will give a patient ‘homework’ to do in their own time but, for whatever reason, the patient may struggle to carry out those exercises using proper exercise form without assistance. Or, the patient may not know when they need to progress to more challenging exercises in order to continue the recovery process. This is where a skilled personal trainer with experience in injury management can be of great assistance.

The reason a personal trainer can help is that the same tasks of correcting exercise form and moving from less complex to more complex and functional exercises is exactly the same process we go through when training people to use gym equipment for the first time. Unsurprisingly, a lot of the exercises prescribed by physiotherapists to help recover from injuries are also exactly the same stability exercises which personal trainers use to help promote joint stability and reduce the likelihood of injury taking place.

Exercise is a great way to reduce the likelihood of injury, particularly with the use of free weights, which require greater use of your body’s stabiliser muscles, and instability devices such as Swiss balls and BOSU balls which force the body to work from an unstable platform. However, should you suffer the misfortune of an injury, get help to put things right as soon as possible. The longer an injury drags on, the higher the chance it will turn into a chronic problem.